Trijicon 5-20×50 Review: TR23 Accupoint Rifle Scope

Trijicon-5-20x50-TR23-Accupoint-Rifle-Scope

Trijicon Accu-point 5-20×50 rifle scope is amazing & It’s the best model of the accupoint series because of this premium design and powerful visualization. Deep dive into the review for more clarification –

TRIJICON ACCUPOINT COMPARISON TABLE

Preview
Reviewed Scope
Trijicon TR23 AccuPoint 5-20x50 Riflescope MIL-Dot...
Trijicon TR26-C-200104 AccuPoint 2.5-12.5x42mm...
Trijicon TR20-2G AccuPoint 3-9X40Mm Riflescope, 1"...
Trijicon TR22-2G AccuPoint 2.5-10x56mm Riflescope,...
Trijicon TR24R AccuPoint 1-4x24mm Riflescope, 30mm...
Trijicon TR25-C-200090 AccuPoint 1-6x24mm...
Title
Trijicon TR23 AccuPoint 5-20×50 Riflescope MIL-Dot…
Trijicon TR26-C-200104 AccuPoint 2.5-12.5x42mm…
Trijicon TR20-2G AccuPoint 3-9X40Mm Riflescope, 1″…
Trijicon TR22-2G AccuPoint 2.5-10x56mm Riflescope,…
Trijicon TR24R AccuPoint 1-4x24mm Riflescope, 30mm…
Trijicon TR25-C-200090 AccuPoint 1-6x24mm…
Price
$1,235.37
$968.13
$703.86
$758.00
$829.99
$938.99
Reviewed Scope
Preview
Trijicon TR23 AccuPoint 5-20x50 Riflescope MIL-Dot...
Title
Trijicon TR23 AccuPoint 5-20×50 Riflescope MIL-Dot…
Price
$1,235.37
Preview
Trijicon TR26-C-200104 AccuPoint 2.5-12.5x42mm...
Title
Trijicon TR26-C-200104 AccuPoint 2.5-12.5x42mm…
Price
$968.13
Preview
Trijicon TR20-2G AccuPoint 3-9X40Mm Riflescope, 1"...
Title
Trijicon TR20-2G AccuPoint 3-9X40Mm Riflescope, 1″…
Price
$703.86
Preview
Trijicon TR22-2G AccuPoint 2.5-10x56mm Riflescope,...
Title
Trijicon TR22-2G AccuPoint 2.5-10x56mm Riflescope,…
Price
$758.00
Preview
Trijicon TR24R AccuPoint 1-4x24mm Riflescope, 30mm...
Title
Trijicon TR24R AccuPoint 1-4x24mm Riflescope, 30mm…
Price
$829.99
Preview
Trijicon TR25-C-200090 AccuPoint 1-6x24mm...
Title
Trijicon TR25-C-200090 AccuPoint 1-6x24mm…
Price
$938.99

Last update on 2020-12-05 / Affiliate links / Images from Amazon Product Advertising API

Pros

Cons

TRIJICON 5-20x50 REVIEW: FEATURES AND BENEFITS

TRIJICON 5-20x50 SPECS

Topic Value
Adjustment Range 40 MOA
Bullet Drop Compensating (BDC) No
Bindon Aiming Concept (BAC) No
Click Value 1/4 MOA
Day Reticle Color 5 mm
Eye Relief Green
Exit Pupil 9.91mm - 5.59mm
Field of View 19.4 ft at 100 Yards
Finish Black Matte
Housing Material 6061-T6 Aluminum, Black Hard Coat
Illumination Source Fiber Optics & Tritium
Length x Width x Height 13.6 in x 3.2 in x 3.2 in
Magnification 5 - 20x
Night Reticle Color Green
Objective Lens 50 mm
Power Source Fiber Optics & Tritium
Reticle Pattern MIL-DOT Crosshair
Tube Size 30mm
Weight 26.9 Oz

BODY QUALITY

The body of Trijicon TR23 AccuPoint 5-20×50 is made of aircraft-grade aluminum. Anodized hard coating around the body which protects the scope from all kinds of weather. All while weighing just around 27oz.

The premium feel of anodized hard black matte coating feels great. 30mm tube size provides more than enough light for you to see your target clearly.

We will talk about the lens in detail later –

For now, I can assure you guys that unless you intentionally let a bulldozer run over your scope, you got a solid piece of work that should last you a long time.

OPTICS QUALITY

Just like a super well-built body. The Trijicon TR23 5-20×50 also has great lenses.

Fiber optics and tritium gives you bright illumination. The reticle doesn’t need any battery to illuminate, more about that later. 

The scopes interior becomes so bright thanks to fiber optics and tritium that you don’t waste any time to recognize the target.

The brightness helps you to see clearer and brighter image. The scope will do great for hunters who are aiming to shoot more than 1000 yards.

Fully multi-coated lens provides excellent performance in any lighting condition. The scope has also a coating of anti-glare so rest assured you are not giving away your position while shooting. You won’t get tired of looking through the lenses that’s for sure.

RETICLE

Here you have 3 options to choose from. We got the Mil-dot crosshair. You can choose from BAC triangle post, MIL-dot crosshair and Standard duplex crosshair. 

We choose the MIL-dot crosshair, if you have been following us for a while you would know it’s one of the easiest crosshairs to get used to. 

If you love Christmas tree style crosshair it will somewhat give a vibe of that but not exactly.

The reticle of this scope is based on the second focal plane. So your reticle will stay the same size even if you zoom into max.

Personally, as much as I love the first focal plane, for the price, I am paying for Trijicon TR23 Accupoint 5-20×50 and what I am getting in return I am more than willing to cut slack on this one.

A huge pro about the reticle is it requires no battery to illuminate. That’s right you heard me correct free illumination forever without any battery. Thanks to the fiber optics and tritium.

ZOOM AND TURRETS

As the name suggests the zoom on Trijicon 5-20×50 has a max zoom of 20x and a minimum 5x. The objective lens on the scope is 50mm. The objective lens provides 19.4 feet at 100yards.

The zooming felt pretty smooth thanks to the high-quality optics and coatings.

And as we mentioned earlier the reticle illuminates auto without any battery, the zooming became much more enjoyable because it almost took no time to shift focus on the zoomed target.

The knobs were pretty smooth to operate. It wasn’t too hard. You get a choice on whether you want caped turrets or exposed ones. Overall pretty smooth experience.

TRIJICON 5-20x50 REVIEW: CONCLUSION

The Trijicon TR23 Accupoint 5-20×50 is a best rifle scope for 1000$. You are getting what you are paying for. Except maybe one thing. 

You are not getting a first focal plane reticle. But we mentioned in the review, it is something we are okay with not having.

Because everything else on the scope is just too good to pass on. If you are on this budget range and are planning on getting a long-range rifle scope then you might want to consider. 

It is a great scope and has our recommendation.

Leave a Comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Scroll to Top